The Excitement of First Sales to Print Magazines

Writing friends, you might enjoy this post, Freelance Awakening and Article Sale Dances, at my new site CrossConnectMedia.com:

Here’s a snippet:

I still recall, back in 1988 when my son was a toddler, the moment I heard that anybody who put their mind to it could write for magazines.

Even me?

It was quite a revelation – for some reason, I’d thought all magazines were staff written. Or at least written by famous writers. What an eye-opener the truth was! I picked up magazines on newsstands with a fresh eye.

Of course, my next question was, “How?”

How do you know what content magazine editors want?  How do you approach them in a professional way? How would I learn to write well enough? And of course: What do they pay?”

. . .  (continues at Freelance Awakening and Article Sale Dances : Writing for Magazines – CrossConnect Media.)

I hope you enjoy my little journey, as I describe what led to my first, thrilling article sale. I’d also love it if you would like to leave a comment there, telling me about your own first sale, or any other sale of an article or personal experience story (family friendly, please) that excited you. It is a real accomplishment, and I’d like to rejoice with you in that! Tell my readers the title of your article and the print magazine it was published in.

Also, to all my faithful subscribers to SellYourNonfiction.com ~ if you’d like to catch future writing tips from me, do subscribe to CrossConnectMedia.com.  Eventually I will shift all my content from here to that site. I’ll let you know when that happens.

Write on!

Laurie

 

I welcome your comments! Let's learn from each other:

